0131 564 0626 | email | facebook
The Institute of Occupational Safety & Health have developed the IOSH Managing Safely course for managers and supervisors in any business sector, and organisation.  READ MORE
View our IOSH Managing Safely courses below.
Start DateEnd DateLocationPostcodeDurationPrice

Mon, 4th May
Wed, 1st Jul
Wed, 2nd Sep
Mon, 2nd Nov

Wed, 6th May
Fri, 3rd Jul
Fri, 4th Sep
Wed, 4th Nov

BarnsleyS75 1JL3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Courses coming soon

DerbyDE24 8UU3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Tue, 31st Mar
Tue, 2nd Jun

Thu, 2nd Apr
Thu, 4th Jun

EdinburghEH20 9LZ3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 24th Feb
Mon, 6th Apr
Mon, 1st Jun
 

Wed, 26th Feb
Wed, 8th Apr
Wed, 3rd Jun
 

GlasgowG74 1AF3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Tue, 24th Mar
Tue, 16th Jun
Wed, 15th Jul
Tue, 15th Sep
Tue, 20th Oct
Mon, 23rd Nov

Thu, 26th Mar
Thu, 18th Jun
Fri, 17th Jul
Thu, 17th Sep
Thu, 22nd Oct
Wed, 25th Nov

LeedsLS27 7LE3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Courses coming soon

LeylandPR25 4GU3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 16th Mar
Mon, 19th Oct

Wed, 18th Mar
Wed, 21st Oct

LiverpoolL24 0TY3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Wed, 13th May
Mon, 10th Aug
Wed, 16th Sep
Tue, 17th Nov

Fri, 15th May
Wed, 12th Aug
Fri, 18th Sep
Thu, 19th Nov

LondonSE1 8UJ3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Tue, 25th Feb
Tue, 23rd Jun

Thu, 27th Feb
Thu, 25th Jun

NewcastleNE4 8AW3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 11th May
Mon, 17th Aug

Wed, 13th May
Mon, 19th Aug

PrestonPR1 3BY3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 24th Feb
Wed, 1st Jul
Mon, 26th Oct

Wed, 26th Feb
Fri, 3rd Jul
Wed, 28th Oct

ReadingRG7 5HT3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 20th Apr
Mon, 1st Jun
Wed, 2nd Sep
Wed, 28th Oct
Wed, 2nd Dec

Wed, 22nd Apr
Wed, 3rd Jun
Fri, 4th Sep
Fri, 30th Oct
Fri, 4th Dec

SouthamptonSO51 6AN3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Tue, 24th Mar
Mon, 15th Jun

Thu, 26th Mar
Wed, 17th Jun

SwindonSN5 8UZ3 Days£395.00BOOK NOW

Course Overview
The Institute of Occupational Safety & Health have developed the IOSH Managing Safely course for managers and supervisors in any business sector, and organisation. This IOSH Managing Safely course has been designed to enable managers to introduce new controls and implement changes within their department. The aim of the course is to promote a safer workplace in line with a companies organisational policy and health & safety compliance.

At the end of the course candidates will be require to carry out the following:

  • A practical risk assessment based project
  • A short exam (25 multi-format questions)

Successful delegates will receive a Managing Safely certificate issued by IOSH.

Objectives
Following successful completion of this IOSH Managing Safely course candidates will be able to:

  • Understand the main guidelines and practice as set out in Health & Safety at Work Act
  • explain the component parts of a recognised safety management system such as HSG65, and OHSAS 18001
  • identify the data and techniques required to produce an adequate record of an incident and demonstrate the procedure for an accident investigation, recognising the human factors involved
  • describe statutory requirements for reporting and procedures for checking for non-reporting
  • define ‘hazard’ and ‘risk’, and describe the legal requirements for risk assessment
  • demonstrate a practical understanding of a risk assessment technique and the data required for records
  • describe workplace precaution hierarchies
  • prepare and use active monitoring checklists and implement schedules for active monitoring, recording results and analysing records
  • outline relevant health and safety legislation, codes of practice, guidance notes and information sources such as the Health and Safety Executive.

Agenda
This qualification will cover the following topics:

  • Introduction and Overview
  • Risk Assessment
  • Risk Control
  • Understanding Responsibilities
  • Health and Safety Legislation
  • Common Hazards
  • Investigating Accidents and Incidents
  • Measuring Performance
  • Environmental Protection

Duration
3 days.

Assessment
An IOSH ‘Managing safely’ certificate is awarded to all those who attend the course and successfully complete both the written and practical assessments. Understanding of the course material is evaluated by means of a written assessment paper consisting of 25 multi-format questions and a practical risk assessment based project. Delegates are responsible for submitting their assessments within the required timescales. If assessments are not submitted by this time the candidate will fail the course.

Who should attend?
Managers and supervisors in any sector and any organisation who is required to manage risk and resources within their organisation.

Suggested Progression
Many people that study the IOSH Managing Safely qualification go on to study for a NEBOSH Certificate(General, International, Construction and/or Fire Certificates).