0131 564 0626 | email | facebook
The CITB Site Management Safety Training Scheme (SMSTS) course is one of the most highly regarded health and safety courses within the UK construction industry and is designed for supervisors and managers and is often an essential requirement for many management position jobs within construction. READ MORE
View our SMSTS courses below.
Start DateEnd DateLocationPostcodeDurationPrice

Mon, 3rd Aug
Mon, 5th Oct
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 7th Aug
Fri, 9th Oct
Fri, 11th Dec

BarnsleyS75 1JL5 Day Block£425.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 2nd Mar
Mon, 20th Apr
Mon, 18th May
Mon, 1st Jun
Mon, 6th Jul
Mon, 3rd Aug
Mon, 7th Sept
Mon, 5th Oct
Mon, 2nd Nov
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 6th Mar
Fri, 24th Apr
Fri, 22nd May
Fri, 5th Jun
Fri, 10th Jul
Fri, 7th Aug
Fri, 11th Sept
Fri, 9th Oct
Fri, 6th Nov
Fri, 11th Dec

DerbyDE24 8UU5 Day Block£425.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 20th Jul
Mon, 17th Aug
Mon, 28th Sep
Mon, 1st Nov
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 24th Jul
Fri, 21st Aug
Fri, 2nd Oct
Fri, 6th Nov
Fri, 11th Dec

EdinburghEH20 9LZ5 Day Block£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 10th Aug
Mon, 7th Sep
Mon, 26th Oct
Mon, 16th Nov
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 14th Aug
Fri, 11th Sep
Fri, 30th Oct
Fri, 20th Nov
Fri, 11th Dec

GlasgowG74 1AF5 Day Block£425.00BOOK NOW

Please Call

Please Call

InvernessIV3 5DF5 Day Block£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 7th Sep
Mon, 19th Oct
Mon, 2nd Nov

Fri, 11th Sep
Fri, 23rd Oct
Fri, 6th Nov

LeedsLS27 7LE5 Day Block£430.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 6th Jul
Mon, 5th Oct

Fri, 10th Jul
Fri, 9th Oct

LeylandPR25 4GU5 Day Block£445.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 14th Sep
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 18th Sep
Fri, 11th Dec

LiverpoolL24 0TY5 Day Block£445.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 13th Jul
Mon, 24th Aug
Mon, 7th Sep
Mon, 19th Oct
Mon, 2nd Nov
Mon, 7th Dec

Fri, 17th Jul
Fri, 28th Aug
Fri, 11th Sep
Fri, 23rd Oct
Fri, 6th Nov
Fri, 11th Dec

LondonSE1 8UJ5 Day Block£485.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 3rd Aug
Mon, 7th Sep
Mon, 28th Sep
Mon, 2nd Nov
Mon, 30th Nov

Fri, 7th Aug
Fri, 11th Sep
Fri, 2nd Oct
Fri, 6th Nov
Fri, 4th Dec

NewcastleNE4 8AW5 Day Block£450.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 3rd Aug
Mon, 2nd Nov

Fri, 7th Aug
Nov, 6th Nov

PrestonPR1 3BY5 Day Block£445.00BOOK NOW
ReadingRG7 5HT5 Day Block£465.00BOOK NOW

Mon, 20th Jul
Mon, 7th Sep
Mon, 9th Nov

Fri, 24th Jul
Fri, 11th Sep
Fri, 13th Nov

SouthamptonSO51 6AN5 Day Block£395.00BOOK NOW

Course Overview
The course ensures site managers and aspiring managers develop an understanding of the legal, moral and social responsibilities of their role, as well as how to effectively manage health and safety on site. It is considered to be an indication of the competence of a Site Manger according to the Approved Code of Practice for the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations (CDM) and The United Kingdom Contractors Group (UKCG) recognises this course as meeting the required standard for all managers working on UKCG sites.

Who is the SMSTS course for?
The course is designed for site managers, supervisors, foremen and anyone who is seeking to advance into a role with site management responsibility. There are no pre-requisites for this course although a good understanding of spoken and written English is required.

Topics Covered
The Health and Safety at Work Act
Construction Design and Management (CDM) Regulations
Risk assessments/method statements
Recent changes in accepted working practices
Behavioural safety
Management of occupational health
Electricity
Excavations
Working at height
Scaffolding
Demolition
Confined spaces.

Course Information
The SMSTS course is run over 37 hours and you will be required to attend all 5 days of the course in order to be awarded the qualification. A maximum of 16 students are accepted at any one time to ensure each individual gets the best possible learning experience and any additional support they may require.

Assessment and Exams
This is a highly interactive course delivered by means of case studies, classroom discussion, group work and individual/group presentations. You will be continuously assessed and required to successfully complete a multiple-choice test at the end of the course.

Qualifications and Certification
Upon successfully completing of the course you will be awarded a CITB Site Safety Plus certificate usually within 6-8 weeks. This qualification is valid for 5 years and can be renewed by attending the 2-day SMSTS Refresher course.

Where can I attend this course?
Ecosse Health and Safety provide training courses in Edinburgh and Glasgow. Alternatively, we can provide in-house training that can be tailored specifically to your work environment and activities, and will significantly reduce costs for your business. If you have an enquiry about training options, contact us and we will be happy to answer any questions.